Business Letter – Exercise Six

Kaylee Sergeant

Judson University 

1151 N State St

Elgin, IL 60123

November 27, 2021

Lila Rose

2200 Wilson Blvd, Suite 102, PMB 111

Arlington, VA 22201

Dear Mrs. Rose:

Hello and good evening! I am writing concerning a possible career opportunity with your organization Live Action as a social media copywriter. My resume along with some sample writings are attached below. 

As a teenager, I grew up in a Christian home where discussions about topics like abortion were common. I was taught how abortion is not only sinful but harmful to the unborn child and mother. Therefore, we have no right to take a person’s life, born or unborn. This led to my strong stance against abortion and having a deep respect for human life in and out of the womb. I have seen many pro-life activism groups and thought they were great but I had always wanted to see something more. I wanted to know what these young women go through when they entered a Planned Parenthood building. I felt that exposure would be the way to truly show people what is going on.  

I went to the Young Women’s Leadership Summit (YWLS) in June 2021, when I heard you speak and I was captivated. As soon as I went home, I watched a plethora of your investigative pieces and was enthralled. This is exactly what I was looking for! You didn’t have to tell a story, the video was right there. This is so important in the abortion war we are facing because now this is not one person’s word against another’s, there is footage. The footage is proof. I want to be a part of Live Action and be a part of making a difference. Not only is Live Action standing against Planned Parenthood, but it is also exposing them. I want to help and I believe I can do that through the job of social media copywriter. 

I can write quality articles with speed and precision while researching. I naturally keep up with the news and what is happening in our fight against abortion so staying up to date is not an issue. I have a blog and am currently studying media writing at Judson University. Beyond that, I have written devotionals for Think Orange on the Bible App as well for my church New Hope Fellowship.   

Due to my strong positions and previous experiences, I am a strong candidate for the job of social media copywriter at Live Action. Once you have looked at my resume and sample writings, please let me know if you would like to discuss this possibility further. I am available for an interview at your earliest convenience.   

Sincerely, 

Kaylee Sergeant

(000) 000-0000

myemail@gmail.com 

By Kaylee Sergeant

College student who likes books, need I say more?

1 comment

  1. Nice work. I would suggest moving your experience and the skills/expertise you will bring to the position to the second paragraph, ahead of why you hold the organization in such high regard. Keep the pyramid in mind, most important facts at the top, followed by supporting insights–know that what they’re looking for is what you have to offer and why you can offer it, you need to get to that information first and then include a bit about what you know of them and why you want to work there (much of this can be saved for your introduction during the interview as they will undoubtedly ask why you’re interested in the role).

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started